Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Pittsburgh Employee (s), Alleged Theft, and Inappropriately Sized Water Heater Installed

Another reason why people should avoid calling Mr. Rooter of Pittsburgh has been discovered on The BBB's website:  Missing Money From A Customer's Wallet & Incompetence

BBB found business made good faith effort to resolve complaint but customer not satisfied with business response (11 complaints)

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Mr Rooter Plumbing to install 50 gallon hot water heater. After employee left it was discovered that $100-$110 was stolen from wallet laying on table where employee passed several times in and out of the house to secure tools/materials from his truck. Called Mr Rooter and was told three times that someone would call me about the matter and no one returned my calls. Reported incident to the Whitehall Police Dept and they took a report and found that employee had multiple criminal activities on his record. Employee denied stealing the money but no one other than employee and family members were in the residence since the money was last seen. Secondly after the hot water heater was installed the Whitehall Fire Dept found that there were two gas leaks on a pipe installed and that the pipe installed was not to code. Whitehall Fire Dept called Mr Rooter Plumbing and asked them to come and make repairs as the gas to the tank had to be shut off for health/safety reasons. A different repair man was sent and installed the correct pipe (to code) and also found that another pipe should have been replaced as it was not to code and he replaced that pipe also. I am disappointed that a national company would send an employee that has a criminal record to any customer's residence or place of business and not inform them of the employee's criminal record. The $100-$110 belonged to my 13 year old daughter who worked hard to save the money. I should not have to worry about a repair person coming into my house and stealing. Secondly if I am paying someone to provide a service it should be done correctly with the correct materials. Fortunately the gas leak did not cause injury to any family members or result in an explosion. The last item I wanted to mention was that I was told they could replace the 50 gallon tank with another 50 gallon tank. A 40 gallon tank was installed. I have been unable to find out why a 40 gallon tank was installed when a 50 gallon tank was requested.
Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $100-$110 that is missing. I would also like to know why a 40 gallon tank was installed when a 50 gallon tank was requested and if I was charged the appropriate price since a smaller tank was installed. I was charged $1,143.75 for the installation work. I would like to be reimbursed monetarily for the inconvenience it caused and the poor service provided by installing the tank improperly with two pipes that were not to code.
Business Response:
This is a response to the complaint ID #*******. It is alleged that our employee may have taken cash from the home. After speaking with the customer, she was advised to contact her local police department which she stated she has. It is now in the hands of the police. We are not in charge of this case any further.

In regards to the issues with pipes installed to code on the water heater, a second technician was dispatched and resolved that issue the same day.

In regards to controversy over 40 or 50 gallon water heater installation, the customer was charged for a 40-gallon water heater and gave us the authorization signature to install a 40-gallon water heater. A second 100% satisfied signature was received authorizing that she received a 40-gallon water heater to her satisfaction.

In conclusion, the the alleged stolen money is in the police department’s hands. All pipe corrections have been made and water heater is installed per code. We consider this matter 100% resolved.

Thank you,
Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The Mr. Rooter Plumbing is taking no responsibilities for the action of their employee or the poor service they have provided. I have sent a letter to the Mr. Rooter Plumbing franchise office advising them about this incident in the hopes they will take some action. I would like my complaint posted on your website so that other people do not experience the problems I encountered with this company

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

Mr. Rooter Plumbing and Owner Robert "Bob" A. Beall is reportedly the owner of the following locations:


Mr. Rooter of Pittsburgh

Mr. Rooter of Youngstown
Mr. Rooter of Dayton
Mr. Rooter of Weirton

Recently, this website refers to this owner's businesses above:  http://www.plumbing-pittsburgh.com - an umbrella for all of the areas that he has declared to be officially serving; however, I recall them serving Ohio before they had officially bought the area.  

Technically, there have been several different websites they have used to switch things up and get search engines to bury the truth about their unethical business practices which have been reported by myself, other consumers, and even their former employees:  False Advertising; Breach of Contract, Shoddy Workmanship; and Nearly Non-Existent Customer Service.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.